July 17, 2024
1 Solar System Way, Planet Earth, USA
Space

SpaceX to launch 20 Starlink satellites on Falcon 9 rocket from Vandenberg Space Force Station – Spaceflight Now

A stack of SpaceX Starlink satellites, including the first six with Direct to Cell capabilities. The batch was launched on the Starlink 7-9 mission, which lifted off from Vandenberg Space Force Base on January 2, 2024. Image: SpaceX

Update 6:42 pm EDT: SpaceX adjusted the mission's T-0 takeoff time.

SpaceX is set to carry out its second Falcon 9 launch of the day, following planned missions for satellite communications company SES from Florida. SpaceX intends to launch another batch of its Starlink satellites, including another 13 with direct-to-cell (DTC) capabilities.

Liftoff from Space Launch Complex 4 East (SLC-4E) at Vandenberg Space Force Base in California is scheduled for 8:40 p.m. PDT (11:40 p.m. EDT, 0340 UTC). This will mark the 20th orbital launch from California in 2024 so far.

Spaceflight Now will have live coverage starting about 30 minutes before takeoff.



The Falcon 9 first stage booster supporting this mission, tail number B1082 in the SpaceX fleet, will be released for the fifth time. It previously supported the launches of the United States Space Force-62 (USSF-62) mission and three Starlink flights.

Just over eight minutes after liftoff, B1082 will land on the SpaceX spacecraft, 'Of Course I Still Love You.' If successful, it will make the 93rd booster landing at OCISLY and the 320th booster landing overall.

Despite an unusually long period without launches (between June 8 and 18), SpaceX is still confident of meeting or exceeding its orbital launch goals this year.

In a statement on

    Leave feedback about this

    • Quality
    • Price
    • Service

    PROS

    +
    Add Field

    CONS

    +
    Add Field
    Choose Image
    Choose Video
    X