July 18, 2024
1 Solar System Way, Planet Earth, USA
Discovery

SpaceX to launch Falcon 9 rocket on Starlink mission from Vandenberg Space Force Station – Spaceflight Now

A Falcon 9 rocket is ready to support the Starlink 7-9 mission from Vandenberg Space Force Base. The mission also includes the first six satellites that will be used for the company's direct-to-cell service. Image: SpaceX

SpaceX expects to complete another double launch day with a West Coast launch of 20 Starlink V2 Mini satellites, including 13 with Direct to Cell capabilities.

Liftoff of the Starlink 9-2 mission is scheduled for 8:47 pm PDT (11:47 pm EDT, 0347 UTC). It comes after the launch of 22 Starlink satellites from Florida at 1:15 pm EDT (1715 UTC) on Sunday.

Spaceflight Now will have live coverage starting about 30 minutes before takeoff.

The first stage booster supporting this mission, tail number B1075 in SpaceX's fleet, will launch for the 11th time. It previously supported the launches of the Space Development Agency's (SDA) Tranche 0 satellite demonstration mission, the German military reconnaissance satellites SARah 2 and 3 and eight Starlink flights.

The last time this booster flew was almost 100 days ago on the Starlink 7-16 mission on March 19.

Just over eight minutes after liftoff, B1075 will land on the SpaceX spacecraft, 'Of Course I Still Love You.' This will be the 94th landing at OCISLY and the 322nd booster landing to date.

The mission comes as SpaceX and NASA are preparing to launch a Falcon Heavy rocket on the GOES-U mission, the latest satellite in the Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellites-R (GOES-R) series. The launch of the rocket to the launch pad at Launch Complex 39A was delayed from Sunday morning.

Teams closely monitor weather conditions for both deployment and launch operations. The mission is currently aiming to take off on Tuesday, June 25 at 5:16 pm EDT (2116 UTC).

According to the latest weather forecast issued on Sunday, June 23, there is only a 30 percent chance of favorable weather at liftoff on both the main launch day and the 24-hour backup on June 26.

Check out views of the Falcon Heavy platform here:

    Leave feedback about this

    • Quality
    • Price
    • Service

    PROS

    +
    Add Field

    CONS

    +
    Add Field
    Choose Image
    Choose Video
    X